The Elder Scrolls: A brief history

Looking back to where it all started

November 11, 2011

The wait is over – today is Skyrim day.

And while you’ll likely be salivating over the shiny new epic, it’s also important to reflect back on the series, and take a look at the games that came before.

Or, you know, to quickly read up on the games you never played because the graphics weren’t pretty enough to capitvate you.

Either way.

The World of The Elder Scrolls is set on the continent of Tamriel – which is split up into different provinces, and each game mostly takes place in a separate one.

The games in the series do not follow a single continuous story, but are rather self-contained – taking place apart, at different times and involving different characters.

But they are all very much closely linked, with a deep lore and history permeating across the game world, and a few characters that get cross-mentions.

The Elder Scrolls: Arena (1994)

The first Elder Scrolls game takes place in Tamriel – more specifically, the area of the Imperial City (which we later learn to be Cyrodiil).

You play as a hero who must search for eight pieces of an artifact – called the Staff of Chaos – and bring them all together.

By accomplishing this, and defeating the big bad guy – an imperial battlemage called Jagar Tharn – you’re able to free Uriel Spetim VII from his imprisonment in another dimension.

Being the first game, and released in 1994 no less, it was somewhat lacking in the graphics department – especially by today’s standards – but it established a universe that would carry through well into the future.

The game featured an open, explorable world that had randomly-generated locales – and was notoriously unforgiving.

The Elder Scrolls II: Daggerfall (1996)

Taking place across two provinces of Tamriel – Hammerfell and High Rock – the second Elder Scrolls game cranked things up a notch.

It featured an absolutely huge game world, with over 15,000 locations and 750,000 NPCs.

The game also introduced spell-crafting and enchanting, and carried the same randomly-generated gameworlds from its predecessor.

The story focused on the player sent to Daggerfall on a special mission from Emporer Uriel Septim (from the first game) – eventually falling into a conspiracy where everyone is trying to revive a powerful golem for their own purposes.

The game was also the first in the series to offer multiple endings – a different one depending on who you decided to ultimately help out.

The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind (2002)

After having such a massive game world, Bethesda would struggle to top themselves; most complaints about Daggerfall, was that the game was simply too big – with a lot of monotonous areas and textures.

So with Morrowind, they decided to tighten things up a bit, and instead focus on creating a game world that was smaller – but more unique.

The third entry into the series refined the combat by making it more mouse-accessible and user-friendly; it also introduced a skill system that developed certain skills and attributes the more you used them.

Once again, Emporer Uriel Septim pulls the strings behind Morrowind’s story, which revolves around the reincarnation of a hero called Indoril Nerevar.

Nerevar is the only one who can defeat the big baddie – Dagoth Ur – who has become immortal through dubious activities.

Over the course of the game, the player learns that he is, in fact, Nerevar reincarnated, and you save the day.

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion (2006)

Shifting back to Cyrodiil and the land of the Imperials – Oblivion started off with the assassination of Emperor Uriel Septim, and focused on the player searching for, protecting and assisting his sole heir, Martin, in his quest to shut down the gates of Oblivion.

Oblivion brought about a massive upgrade in graphics for the series, and brought in many big names to do the voice acting.

The game built on the features that were added and evolved across the series, with players starting off establishing a clear class path at the early stages – and levelling up based on using that skill-set.

With 41.4 square kilometers to explore in the world, the map was the second largest in the Elder Scrolls series, after Daggerfall’s hypothetical 487,000 square kilometer land mass.

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (2011)

Released today (11/11/11), Skyrim takes place 200 years after the events of Oblivion – in the northern province of…you guessed it – Skyrim.

I could probably tell you what it’s all about, but why would I do that when you’re probably already playing it?

It’s pretty clear that The Elder Scroll series has come a long way, and evolved over many years. Will Skyrim be the ultimate representation of this series?

Share your thoughts on the forum!

A brief history of The Elder Scrolls << Comments and views

Tags: headline

Shutterstock is the image partner of MyGaming – technology images can be found here


Have you bought, or do you plan to buy Evolve?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Latest News

Free PlayStation and Xbox games in March 2015

Xbox PSPlus

Here are the free games you can get this month, courtesy of Sony and Microsoft

Gaming has some seriously rich billionaires

Gaming money

Gaming journalism, sadly, does not

Half-Life heading into virtual reality with Vive

Half-Life 2

HTC, makers of the Vive VR headset, wants to bring the Half-Life series to the world of virtual reality

Epic multiplayer games coming in 2015


Keep a look out for these multiplayer games coming your way this year


Newsletter Subscription

Email *
Enter the following to confirm your subscription *
Captcha image

Free MyGaming Newsletter: