Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: A question on game connections

  1. #1

    Post A question on game connections

    Hey guys, I live in Botswana and I use my internet mainly for gaming. Its an uncapped 512kbps line.
    My problem is when I play a game online, for instance F1 2012, I lose connection if 8 or more people are in the race with me. What could the problem be? I get disconnected from my router (Thomson TG585v7) and have to sign back into PSN again.

    Now Ive been reading about capped vs uncapped, Shaped vs unshaped, data overheads and been wondering if any of those could be a factor for the terrible connection. How can I check for a solution?
    Last edited by MajinOLesedi; 05-10-2012 at 08:05 PM.

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MajinOLesedi View Post
    Hey guys, I live in Botswana and I use my internet mainly for gaming. Its an uncapped 512kbps line.
    My problem is when I play a game online, for instance F1 2012, I lose connection if 8 or more people are in the race with me. What could the problem be? I get disconnected from my router (Thomson TG585v7) and have to sign back into PSN again.

    Now Ive been reading about capped vs uncapped, Shaped vs unshaped, data overheads and been wondering if any of those could be a factor for the terrible connection. How can I check for a solution?
    Chances are you are connecting, to servers in the EU or USA. Being over 1000km's away your ping and latency are going to be much higher. Hence the disconnections when you play.

  3. #3

    Default

    Might also be your line is old get your telecoms provider to check it for you also have you tried it with a different router perhaps?
    Evil meet my Sword. Sword, meet Evil!


  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Glordit View Post
    Chances are you are connecting, to servers in the EU or USA. Being over 1000km's away your ping and latency are going to be much higher. Hence the disconnections when you play.
    Yes that is the case playing interantional. I'll try playing with local people and note the difference.

    Quote Originally Posted by Crzwaco View Post
    Might also be your line is old get your telecoms provider to check it for you also have you tried it with a different router perhaps?
    Thanks, I'll try that when I get a hold of another router.

  5. #5
    bradbear117's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Eastern Cape, about 70meters from the ocean
    Posts
    1,978

    Default

    Local serves should be much better.

    I think the best solution though will be to move to Europe or the US. It will cost alot at first but you wont be dissapointed, i know many people who immigrate for better internet alone.

    the power of bewbs on tap, so to speak.

Similar Threads

  1. Question for Joker
    By R4C3 in forum Hardware and Gadgets
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 14-05-2012, 03:37 PM
  2. GPU question
    By Sick Boy in forum Hardware and Gadgets
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 25-03-2012, 08:04 AM
  3. Stupid question
    By Sick Boy in forum Gaming Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30-08-2011, 06:40 PM
  4. Curious Question
    By sycogrim in forum Hardware and Gadgets
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-04-2010, 10:14 AM
  5. To Sli or not - that is the Question
    By Grimspoon in forum Hardware and Gadgets
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 27-09-2009, 11:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •