Sony Vita limited to one user per unit

Oh dear. In its continued efforts to irritate its customer base, Sony has revealed that the Playstation Vita will be limited to one Playstation Network account per unit, contrary to what was previously thought.

Nintendo previously stated that switching out memory cards would let people use multiple PSN accounts on the same Vita. Sony has now clarified that this is not the case.

Talking to Wired, Sony explains that to use a new PSN account, you’d have to reset the hardware.

“[The] PSN account is tied to the hardware and the memory card, not just the card,” Sony said, “which means that if a second person is using your Vita, it’s not just a case of switching out memory cards, it’s clearing out all of your saved data on the Vita itself when you do the factory reset.

“In other words, PlayStation Vita is intended to be played by only one user.”

While a majority of people may be unaffected by this (but will probably complain anyway), there is certainly a contingent of people who will be disappointed by the news; people living under the same roof such as siblings or roommates could have been hoping to share a unit, but each own their own memory card.

Source: Eurogamer

Authors
Partners
asus

Join the conversation

FREE NEWSLETTER
Sony Vita limited to one user per unit

Related posts

Top