Fantastic downloadable games lead at DICE 2013


Downloadable games were in the spotlight at the 16th Annual D.I.C.E. Awards. The Playstation 3 exclusive “Journey”, developed by thatgamecompany, scored eight awards including Game of the Year, Outstanding Innovation in Gaming, and Outstanding Achievement in Game Direction.

The Walking Dead secured four awards, including Adventure Game of the Year and Downloadable Game of the Year.

Other multi-award winners include Halo 4, honoured for visual engineering and connectivity, and XCOM: Enemy Unknown, recognized for its gameplay engineering as well as securing the Strategy/Simulation Game of the Year award.

The D.I.C.E. Awards illustrate the diversity of interactive experiences available today, including Web-Based Game of the Year SimCity Social, Family Game of the Year Skylanders Giants, Mobile Game of the Year Hero Academy, and Action Game of the Year Borderlands 2.

The Walking Dead – Telltale Games

Also during the Awards ceremony, industry legend Gabe Newell, president and co-founder of Valve Corporation, became the 17th inductee into the AIAS Hall of Fame, and Infocom co-founders Dave Lebling and Marc Blank received the 2013 AIAS Pioneer Award.

Since 1996, the D.I.C.E. Awards have recognized outstanding games, individuals and development teams that have contributed to the advancement of the multi-billion dollar worldwide entertainment software industry. Over a hundred titles were played and evaluated by members of the Academy’s Peer Panels. The panels are comprised of the game industry’s most experienced and talented men and women. Each panel is responsible for evaluating one award category. D.I.C.E. recipients are determined by a vote of qualified Academy members. Award voting is confidential, conducted online and supervised and certified by VoteNet Solutions, Inc. The integrity of the system, coupled with a broad-based voting population of AIAS members, makes the D.I.C.E. Awards the most credible, respected and recognized awards for interactive entertainment software.

The complete list of winners, as decided by a peer-based voting system, is as follows:

Action Game of the Year

  • Borderlands 2

Mobile Game of the Year

  • Hero Academy

Handheld Game of the Year

  • Paper Mario Sticker Star

Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Composition

  • Journey

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Design

  • Journey

Outstanding Achievement in Story

  • The Walking Dead

Outstanding Character Performance

  • The Walking Dead: Lee Everett

Downloadable Game of the Year

  • The Walking Dead

Casual Game of the Year

  • Journey

Web Based Game of the Year

  • SimCity Social

Family Game of the Year

  • Skylanders Giants

Role-Playing/Massively Multiplayer Game of the Year

  • Mass Effect 3

Mass Effect 3

Strategy/Simulation Game of the Year

  • XCOM: Enemy Unknown

Outstanding Innovation in Gaming

  • Journey

Sports Game of the Year

  • FIFA Soccer 13

Racing Game of the Year

  • Need for Speed Most Wanted

Fighting Game of the Year

  • PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale

Outstanding Achievement in Online Gameplay

  • Journey

Outstanding Achievement in Connectivity

  • Halo 4

Outstanding Achievement in Animation

  • Assassin’s Creed III

Outstanding Achievement in Art Direction

  • Journey

Outstanding Achievement in Visual Engineering

  • Halo 4

Outstanding Achievement in Gameplay Engineering

  • XCOM: Enemy Unknown

Adventure Game of the Year

  • The Walking Dead

Outstanding Achievement in Game Direction

  • Journey

Game of the Year

  • Journey


About the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences:

The Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences (AIAS) was founded in 1996 as a not-for-profit organization whose mission is to promote, advance and recognize the outstanding achievements in the interactive entertainment industry worldwide. The Academy conducts its annual awards show, the D.I.C.E. Awards, to celebrate and honor creative accomplishments in the field. To further enhance awareness of the Academy’s vision, the organization created the D.I.C.E. (Design, Innovate, Communicate, Entertain) Summit in 2002, a once yearly conference dedicated to exploring approaches to the creative process and artistic expression as they uniquely apply to the development of interactive entertainment. With more than 22,000 members, including Electronic Arts, Microsoft, Sony, Nintendo, Google, Bethesda Game Studios, Ubisoft, Epic Games, Double Fine, Gearbox Software, Nexon and Insomniac Games, among others. More information can be found at and

More gaming awards

VGA 2012: all the winners

Forum discussion

Join the conversation

Fantastic downloadable games lead at DICE 2013

Related posts