Afrihost

JackBauer

New member
I am so disgusted with them. Let me tell you a little story....

Yesterday evening i saw that my International cap was nearly finished and i decided to search online for 2gb cheap prepaid cap so that i can play MW2 online with my mates. Decided to try out Afrihost.

What a disappointment ! I filled in the necessary form and gave my bank details. Got an email after that that says i can logging as soon as i fax or email through a copy of my ID. Now i really was pissed. It did not say on their site that you need to give them a copy of the ID. Ja, you can take a photo of your ID but that is besides the point.

I had to send 4 emails to get it cancelled. Got prepaid from old trusty Web Africa although much more expensive.
 
Hey

All service providers require you to fax through a copy of your ID to comply with the new acts passed by parliament.

You most probably (like myself) created a client account with WebAfrica before the act came into being therefore not needing to ever submit a copy of your ID.

If you signup as a new client with WebAfrica, Axxess, Cybersmart you name it, you will need to submit proof of identification.

I myself did the same thing for OpenWeb, Axxess and AfriHost when I opened accounts recently to try out their services. AfriHost activated my account within 15 minutes of sending the fax. This was at around 11PM on a Saturday.

AfriHost and other providers are simply complying with South African law. It is also not a unreasonable request to provide proof of identification in the communication industry.
 
Hey

All service providers require you to fax through a copy of your ID to comply with the new acts passed by parliament.

You most probably (like myself) created a client account with WebAfrica before the act came into being therefore not needing to ever submit a copy of your ID.

If you signup as a new client with WebAfrica, Axxess, Cybersmart you name it, you will need to submit proof of identification.

I myself did the same thing for OpenWeb, Axxess and AfriHost when I opened accounts recently to try out their services. AfriHost activated my account within 15 minutes of sending the fax. This was at around 11PM on a Saturday.

AfriHost and other providers are simply complying with South African law. It is also not a unreasonable request to provide proof of identification in the communication industry.

this is been explained to f***ing death in the myBB forums. ltr plz.
 
MrG, it is not about the fact that i had to give them a copy of my ID. It is about them not telling me of the conditions of this service.

This constitutes to misleading advertising. Plain and simple.
 
MrG, it is not about the fact that i had to give them a copy of my ID. It is about them not telling me of the conditions of this service.

This constitutes to misleading advertising. Plain and simple.

Okay, yeah. I presume warning of needing to send through your ID would be nice.

I do recall now they debited by account immediately... before I even sent the ID through. However I could not access the account, due to verification by ID not being completed yet.

I wasn't that pleased with the order of debiting the account before sending of ID.
 
Hmm, Well seeing as how I'm going to get Afrihost soon now for the cheap gigs and more than adequate latencies. Does anyone know where I can get a free local email so that I can email em the ID they require :?
 
lol ye, i'm with them and they're absolutely awesome... wanted to top up a gig the other evening only to see they were running a 2 gigs for the price of 1 special. R29 for 2 gigs of data = pure win

Using them here too and for once I'm not afraid of getting capped thanks to that promotion :cool:
 
Webmail doesn't seem to be locally hosted anymore...well, the last time I tried
to retrieve my mail using a local account I got nothing.

I got the following when I pinged Webmail:
Pinging wrapper.wmint.net [80.247.237.60]

I thought South Africa used 196 :confused:

....all part of my education.
 
Ah, that's unfortunate then. I always found it strange they didn't host overseas. I guess all those ads finally stopped paying for the local hosting :p
 
MrG, it is not about the fact that i had to give them a copy of my ID. It is about them not telling me of the conditions of this service.

This constitutes to misleading advertising. Plain and simple.

I'd hardly call that advertising. But yeah it does become irritating if you don't have a copy online somewhere.
 
Back
Top